77 Sunset Strip

77 Sunset Strip is the office of two private detectives, Stu Bailey (Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.) and Jeff Spencer (Roger Smith), both of whom are former secret agents. They’re right next door to an upscale restaurant where Kookie (a hipster played by Edd Byrnes) works as a valet and provides some comic relief. Kookie sometimes helps the two detectives on their cases and eventually joined them full time.

Table of Contents

Broadcast History

Related Pages

Network: ABC
Broadcast: 1958-1964
First Broadcast: October 10, 1958
Last Broadcast: February 7, 1964

We have no broadcast history for this show yet.


Episode Guide


Collectibles & Memorabilia



Actor Character(s)Notes
Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.Stuart Bailey 
Roger SmithJeff Spencer 
Edd ByrnesGerald “Kookie” Kookson III / Kevin Smiley 

Regulars & Guest Stars

Actor Character(s) Notes
Jacqueline Beer Suzanne
Louis Quinn Roscoe
Byron Keith Lt. Roy Gilmore
Robert Logan J.R. Hale

Theme Song / Opening Credits


There were 6 seasons and 206 episodes of 77 Sunset Strip. Check out the 77 Sunset Strip episode guide.


The restaurant in the show, Dino’s Lodge, was owned by Dean Martin.

Edd Byrnes originally played a contract killer in the pilot. He was so popular that they brought him back to the series in the role of Kookie.


We have no quotes yet.


77 Sunset Strip Facebook Page ( Facebook) – Facebook page for the show 77 Sunset Strip.

Photo Gallery

TV Guide Covers


Tags: 77 sunset strip, kookie byrnes, edd “kookie” byrnes, efrem zimbalist jr., roger smith