77 Sunset Strip

77 Sunset Strip

77 Sunset Strip is the office of two private detectives, Stu Bailey (Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.) and Jeff Spencer (Roger Smith), both of whom are former secret agents. They’re right next door to an upscale restaurant where Kookie (a hipster played by Edd Byrnes) works as a valet and provides some comic relief. Kookie sometimes helps the two detectives on their cases and eventually joined them full time.

Broadcast History

Network: ABC
Broadcast: 1958-1964
First Broadcast: October 10, 1958
Last Broadcast: February 7, 1964


Efrem Zimbalist, Jr.Stuart Bailey
Roger SmithJeff Spencer
Edd ByrnesGerald "Kookie" Kookson III / Kevin Smiley

Regulars & Guest Stars

Jacqueline BeerSuzanne
Louis QuinnRoscoe
Byron KeithLt. Roy Gilmore

Theme Song / Opening Credits



The restaurant in the show, Dino’s Lodge, was owned by Dean Martin.

Edd Byrnes originally played a contract killer in the pilot. He was so popular that they brought him back to the series in the role of Kookie.


We have no quotes yet.


Photo Gallery


Join Our Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share this post with your friends!

TV Yesteryear